The HR Juggler

The ConnectingHR Unconference: Why I’m Going, Why You Should Too

Posted on: April 28, 2011

 

 
In October 2010 when the first ConnectingHR Unconference took place, I had only been on Twitter for about 3 weeks. I wasn’t at all sure whether or not to go, but I took a chance, mostly because I thought there was not much to lose and it might help me to develop my professional network. As it turned out, it was a real turning point for me professionally and personally and was an amazing day and led to me becoming part of an incredibly supportive, down-to-earth, pragmatic HR community.

The second ConnnectingHR Unconference takes place on Thursday 5th May and you can book your place here.

So why go? Why bother?  What’s in it for you to stir your stumps and do something different, take a chance like I did?

  • You’ll meet some great people. Interesting, engaged, passionate, knowledgeable, helpful, welcoming, interested, social and sociable, who will be delighted to accept you into their professional network. It’s a fantastic network to be part of. If you’re in any doubt (or perhaps even just curious!), check out the attendee list
  • You’ll experience different and more social ways of interacting in large groups: whether it is the world cafe or pecha kucha presentations or simply the freedom of wandering from one brainstorming session to the next, it will challenge you to think and behave and interact differently and give you ideas to try within your workplace
  • You’ll be inspired to try something different and experiment with making changes in how you do things. The first Unconference led to me starting my own blog the very next day. Believe me, I never saw that one coming!
  • You’ll learn something (and most likely many things!) you didn’t already know

For me the Unconference is special and a great opportunity to network, share experiences and learn. The second one has a lot to live up to…but I am certain it will be everything that the first one was and more. 

I’ll be there…..and hope very much that you will be too

5 Responses to "The ConnectingHR Unconference: Why I’m Going, Why You Should Too"

Great post. Permission to add two words please:

Exciting
Excited!

Cheers – Doug

Oh yes….permission granted! Agree with both 🙂

And it’s a week today – woohoo!

Awesome – cant wait! Great post, i can feel the passion! See you there!

[…] Alison Chisnell at The HR Juggler: The ConnectingHR Unconference: Why I’m Going, Why You Should Too […]

I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 239 other subscribers

HR Juggler’s Archive