The HR Juggler

Day 16: Soft

Posted on: December 16, 2013

2013day16

One of the things that I really enjoy about the Advent blog series is how different each of the posts are and how the distinctive voice of each contributor can be heard through their own words. Day 16 is written by Sukh Pabial, Learning and Development practitioner, advocate and change agent and prolific blogger.

Artwork for today (and every day!) is by the brilliant Simon Heath.

******************************************************************

Soft.

Be still this rushing mind.

Calm.

Where are you rushing to in a hurry, friend?

This time, now. This moment, forever. Live here, free.

Soft.

Read these words. Hear the force. Take the pace. It belongs to you. Just you.

Breathe. Deeply. Hear. Wildly.

Take the time to consider, what is it you’ve been hearing? What is it you’ve been reading? In your haste to congratulate and applaud, what difference did it make?

My story is your story. I’m here writing this for you.

My stake is your stake. What do you share and how does that affect us all?

I can’t write for you. I can’t share your story. Make yours heard.

Soft.

This world waits. Opportunity and potential juxtapositioned against heartache and pain. Your belief.

I believe.

In you.

Make it heard.

Your story.

It matters to me.

Soft.

Just like the soft smile of a loved one.

Just like the soft words spoken at the right time.

Just like the soft touch it takes for you to smile.

There.

5 Responses to "Day 16: Soft"

Dear Sukh,

What a beautiful surprise! I was expecting a hard hitting L&D type of post and instead I was greeted by this gentle, simple and yet such a powerful post! It is so touching, I have tears in my eyes as I write this. I think this is one of the best I’ve seen of your work so far, if not THE best!

So, write away my friend, you’re making the difference just by writing such excellent posts.

Thanks for sharing. Thanks Simon for capturing the gentle, fragile and softness like rose petals. Beautiful. Xx

Hi Bina,

Such a nice comment to read, thank you! I considered quite hard what I wanted my message to be, and I didn’t want to reflect on work practices.

To say that this is my best piece of writing is awesomely kind, thank you!

Sukh

My first read of the day and, as Shakespeare would have said, “soft! what light through yonder window breaks?…” A beautiful, gentle, apt and mindful piece. Wonderful! Thank you.

Hi Kate,

I am loving that Shakespeare quote, thank you!

Sukh

[…] Pabial was next up for day sixteen with a delicate, gentle, poetic offering that made me think of Japanese illustrations of blossom. I […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

HR Juggler’s Archive

