The HR Juggler

Day 22: Thankful

Posted on: December 22, 2012

22

This is the post that I am breaking all of my usual advent blog series rules for, as I received it earlier this week and am posting it pretty much straight away, even though there are many other posts waiting to be published. The reason for this is deeply personal – it is written by my lovely sister-in-law, Liz – and exactly one week ago today she had a very serious health scare. The story behind it isn’t mine to tell, but that she is still here and well on the road to recovery is a huge relief, a blessing and a massive source of happiness to all of us who love her unconditionally and probably don’t tell her often enough. So, for Liz (now on Twitter as @LionTamer71) today and always, I am thankful.

************************************************************

Although I enjoyed contributing to Alison’s guest blog posts last year, I hadn’t intended to write anything this year. I was much too busy living 2012 to stop and reflect on it, let alone try to consider what 2013 might bring.  All that changed on Saturday evening when a sudden medical emergency left me in hospital with ample reflection time.

You would think that after that experience, this might be a negative kind of post, but I don’t think it will be. Because with all the time for reflection and the stark realisation of my own mortality, what I have been left with is a sense of gratitude and relief. It seems a cliché but I really have been counting my blessings.

Amidst all the panic over the weekend, the strongest theme to emerge is the love, security and support of an amazing extended family who have rallied round magnificently to help out.  From my 12 year old son who bravely and calmly dialled 999 and summoned help, whilst also comforting his frightened younger sister, to my wonderful parents in law who scooped up the children to look after them whilst I was in hospital, and my poor husband who bore the brunt of the worry and stress of it all, everyone has been amazingly kind and helpful to me.  I am so very lucky to have all these people around me and one of my resolutions for the future is to make sure they know how much I love and appreciate them all.

Reflecting on the year as a whole, the things that stick in my mind now are the good memories. Fun family holidays in the South West, the excitement of the Olympics and the Jubilee, and also some positive developments at work with the expansion of my small accountancy practice and the move to new premises last month.  Of course there have been low points too but somehow those seem less important now as I look back over the year.  I have in the past had a bit of a tendency to dwell on the negative and fail to see the positives in life, and my other resolution for 2013 is to change this and ‘always look on the bright side of life’ (in the immortal words of Eric Idle).

All this goes to show that even the most frightening of experiences can have an overall positive effect on your life, and I hope the lessons of the last few days will stay with me through 2013 and beyond.  I have my health, I have my family, and really, what more does anyone need?

2 Responses to "Day 22: Thankful"

What more do we need? Indeed, this is the best that life has to offer 🙂 A strong message, thanks.

Are you feeling better? I hope so, and I hope you enjoy choosing a more positive attitude at times too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

HR Juggler’s Archive

