The HR Juggler

Never Forget

Posted on: September 21, 2011

Day 4 of my blogging experiment and I finally get to write on the topic that I thought I’d be tackling on Sunday evening: which members of Take That were better looking in 2004 and 2011? Yes, really!

Well, we’ve got some funny ways as a society haven’t we? Once someone becomes a celebrity we consider ourselves entitled to judge them on their physical appearance and how good-looking we perceive them to be. I’m well aware though, that if I were a man, writing this post about a female group such as Girls Aloud, I would be braced for some justifiable outrage at such blatant objectification of women. This paradox was covered superbly by @SpeccyWoo here.

But is it only celebrities who are considered  fair game in this way or are we increasingly judging everyone on their physical appearance? A recent article in the Telegraph posed the question of whether being ugly makes you poor and builds a compelling argument that we are seeing ever more beautiful people in public life, in our work environment and on television and that good looks translate into significantly higher earnings and material success. Fascinating and disturbing in equal measure.

Who determines what good looks are and what makes someone appear ugly? My favourite definition by far is one that Roald Dahl gives in his excellent children’s book The Twits

If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face. And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week , every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until it gets so ugly you can hardly bear to look at it.

A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and  a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.

An idealistic description? Undoubtedly. Unrealistic? Probably. But I still love it.

Back to Take That, a good-looking boy-band and an even more handsome man-band, the photos below will enable you to reach your own decision on who you feel is better looking when they started their career as a group and how they are in 2011 respectively, should you feel inclined to do so.

 
 
Incidentally, when watching a documentary on the band last November, my overriding sense was that whilst good looks, money and fame could enable an individual to attain all manner of material possessions,  they cannot ever buy happiness, contentment, self-confidence, security or peace of mind. So, whilst we’re on the topic of never forgetting (and a video to keep all you TT fans happy), ponder this –

 

Never forget

  • that real beauty comes from within
  • that money can’t buy you happiness
  • to be grateful for what you’ve got and learn to live with it

I’d love to have your views on any or all of the above…. 🙂

***************************************************************

This post is the fourth of my blogging experiment, where all of the post topics have been generated by others and there has been voting taking place on which topic I should blog on each day. If you haven’t voted for a topic yet, please do – I will be tackling the topic with the most votes every day for the remainder of this week. In the event of tie-break votes, I will make the final choice between the two most popular myself  ;)  

11 Responses to "Never Forget"

Finally the post that I was waiting for!! Fabulous Alison love it!!
The correct answer is Howard in 2004 and Gary in 2011.
Did I miss the point again?!?
xx

You never miss the point, lovely and I had a lot of fun thinking about it and writing it….so thank you!

wasn’t sure where you would go with this topic – but as thoughtful and thought provoking as ever – thank you

As Aswad sang “Beauty’s only skin deep!” I think your point about fame not buying happiness is a very valid one, we should always be grateful for what we have 🙂

Did they???!! Haha, only you would know that 🙂

Again wonderful post,
I’m about to ramble sorry i have a strong view on this.
So people seem to deduce that I am attractive physically which is very nice of them but I don’t see the same thing. I am aware i wasn’t hit with a stick but my physically appearance doesn’t instantly make me a confident person certain interactions. It also doesnt open doors and hasn’t made me excel any further then anyone else I know.
I have been informed yesterday it’s a waste for me to be on my own even though the choice is my own because I am to attractive to not have a boyfriend.
My point is I have a perfectly good brain that I like. I am just as able as anyone else to do or no do, achieve and underachieve as the next and if anything looks can often be a pain in the backside.
We are who we are beyond physical beauty I’m with Dahl on this one 🙂 looks only get you so far but what inside is the driver

Forgive me for I’m about to lower the tone just a touch….

The dude in the middle on the bottom row has the look of someone either trying to prevent, or about to, fart.

That is not a good look in my book.

PS – I quite fancy that tall lady waving in the background top right picture one, do you have her number?

Well observed post Ali – and great comment Doug!

OMG. Gary looks like Jedward.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

HR Juggler’s Archive

