The HR Juggler

Let Me Entertain You

Posted on: August 15, 2011


Ah…holidays. The opportunity to have a week or two off from work, to stay at home or to travel somewhere for a break. The potential to achieve a completely relaxed state of mind, to refresh one’s batteries and take time to pause and breathe.

I love the fact that my children have six week holidays from school. I remember well as a child myself the seemingly endless stretch of time, lazy sunny (and rainy!) days, fun at home or on holiday with my family. My Mum is a firm believer that adults should not be required to provide entertainment for children, rather that children be allowed the time and space to create their own games and enjoyable past-times. Simplicity seems to rule in our house too during the holidays…the kids are happy going blackberry picking, reading, drawing, inventing their own games and scenarios.

We have just returned from two weeks camping in Germany. Before we went, I wondered whether I might have fallen out of love with camping a little, but found to my relief and pleasure that I still enjoy it as much as I ever have. Fresh air, simplicity, the freedom and independence for children within a safe environment, a break from the blaring demands of our muti-media lives. On the ferry on the outward journey, I read a quote to the effect that “the greatest expression of love is time.” It really struck a chord with me and sums up what holidays are really about for me, the chance to spend time with the people I love.

I wonder sometimes whether our wish to be entertained and to fill our days with structured activities, either at home or at work, can sometimes entirely distract us from the things that really matter, the reasons why we chose to do what we do in the first place, what we want to achieve and what our true strengths are. Common sense and experience tells me that maintaining the current relaxed frame of mind I am enjoying, will be next to impossible once I return to work…but…but!…I am going to try. And my challenge to myself is to bring some simplicity and fresh thinking to what I do there too.

How were your holidays? What are you reflecting about? I’d love to know!

7 Responses to "Let Me Entertain You"

Wow what a difference from where we camp !!!! It looks cool and comfortable – and no mosquitos.
Sandy
http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

It was definitely cool and comfortable…although must confess this wasn’t our campsite or tent, rather a lovely picture which evoked the same feelings of idyllic tranquility ;). No mosquitos either, which was definitely a plus!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

I so agree with your post, we are just back from camping in France and our 3 teenage boys and 11 year old daughter managed to survive 2 weeks without planned activities, amusements on tap or laptops (with the exception of a couple of films and admittedly the older one had his phone). I’m thinking about the highlights of the holiday and one which sticks in my mind is something we very rarely do at home. It was a rare rainy day and I was lying on the air bed reading a book – Dawn French’s A Tiny Bit Marvelous. I found it funny and decided to share a funny bit with the kids who were also chilling in the tent, when I finished they asked me to carry on. I read aloud 3 chapters of the book, all of us laughing, particularly at Oscars chapter. This was an impromptu moment of time I couldn’t have planned (I can imagine the teenage grunts and objections if I said “right kids, I’m now going to read a book aloud to you!) it happened because we were all together and had the time. Your quote “the greatest expression of love is time” is so true, holidays are indeed a time for spending time with the ones we love.

Thanks so much for commenting – I love your story about reading aloud to your kids in the tent. Really precious memories.

Whilst camping wasn’t on the cards for my break, I really enjoyed being able to take my mum away, just the two of us and spend quality time. We walked and talked, went to little tea shops beautiful resturant and talked some more. The location, fresh air and a simple day really helped me to switch off. For me it’s that feeling that nothing is as big an issue as it seems, let’s get it sorted and quickly, but we don’t need to get a headache over it or get so caught up in the drama and day to day issues that we forget to step back and take a breather. So I’ll be trying to do that more at work and a quick walk at lunch is my first starting point. : )

How lovely, glad you had a relaxing break…and yes, having some fresh air at lunchtime when back at work is a great place to start. As you know, I need reminding about that too 🙂

Properly said & with wonderful timing

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 233 other followers

HR Juggler’s Archive

