The HR Juggler

Motivation: How Do You Like Yours?

Posted on: November 23, 2010

This week, our Facilities team has been creating some new posters with motivational quotes on them to brighten up the office. I am not usually a fan of such things, often cynically suspecting that they will be “cheesy” or uninspiring; however the end result and how they have gone about creating it, is quite simply brilliant.

Rather than buying meaningless corporate posters and placing them randomly throughout the office, our lovely Facilities Manager has gone to the trouble of researching quotations that she feels will resonate with staff, asking employees for feedback and selecting the most popular to go with fresh and interesting images.

Some of my favourites are below –

  • “You must do the one thing you think you cannot do”  Eleanor Roosevelt
  • “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands, but in having new eyes”  Marcel Proust
  • “Tell me and I will forget, show me and I may remember, involve me and I will understand”  Chinese Proverb
  • “Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm”  Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • “Tell me, what is it that you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”  Mary Oliver
  • “There is no point in playing small – in settling for a life that is less than what you are capable of living” Nelson Mandela
  • “There is no failure except in no longer trying” Elbert Hubbard

The most fantastic thing in all of this, which has made it a motivating experience for me and many others, is also the simplest: I was asked to choose which quote I liked best and would like to have in my line of sight.  Employee engagement in action!

I, of course, chose the first quote about doing the one thing that I think I cannot…which has stood me in pretty good stead over the last couple of months and which I hope will continue to inspire me to do more things outside of my comfort zone.

Which quote would you choose??!


3 Responses to "Motivation: How Do You Like Yours?"

I love the involvement of people in projects like this. They help give some authenticity to what otherwise might be a bit…cheezy? Of the quotes you have offered I would choose the same as you. And if I may…here are three I really like:”Never Underestimate The Power of Persistence” Nelson Mandelaon love and life, I come back to this often:”Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other but in looking outward in the same direction” Antoine de Saint-Exupery And if we’re getting very personal well I’d have to say:”Proceed Until Apprehended” Doug ShawThanks for the opportunity to contribute Alison. D

Hi DougThanks for commenting. The ability to contributeto the posters and to peronally choose which ones we had in our space was just brilliant – so easy, yet so powerful in terms of mortivation and buy-in.I love your quotes! I really like the Saint-Exupery one particularly. I studied Le Petit Prince for French A-level many moons ago and lots of it really resonated, particularly “tu es responsable pour toujours de ce que to as apprivoisé” (you are forever responsible for that which you have tamed)And your “proceed until apprehended” quote is forever part of the ConnectingHR mindset!

Fabulous post and timely as I’m involved in a tough debate with any about employee engagement. Favourite quote for me is the Chinese proverb – this to me is the heart of a lot of our problems! Thanks for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers

HR Juggler’s Archive

